Unnormal Normalcy

Just News and Ramblings From Your Average Author

2010 Sales Round-Up

Thinking about publishing the self-done way? Here is a peek at how my first year of being a self-published author went, numbers wise:

 

… Amount Invested: $193.05 (including proof copies, books bought by me to resell, CreateSpace’s pro-plan)

… Amount Earned: $143.00 (this includes only books I sold myself, in person)

 

That leaves $50.05 invested that I didn’t get back. Keep in mind, I only had one book out in 2010. The more books you have out, the quicker you will earn back the money you put in.

 

However, I still have a small amount of unpaid royalties at this point:

 

… Amazon paperback sales: $16.85

… Amazon Kindle sales: $3.12


So, we can say that I have currently invested $30.08 more than I’ve earned. This isn’t as bad as I had expected going into the process. It is definitely not the way to get rich quick, but it is rewarding in other ways: my story is out there, people can read it, and they come to me to talk about what I’ve written. I’m not getting rich, but I’m very happy with my choice.

January 30, 2011 - Posted by | The Angel, Writing

2 Comments »

  1. Hi Natasha,

    First of all; thank you for taking the time to visit my blog. Your own is most interesting. You are very brave for self-publishing. I’ll keep following to see how you are getting on.
    Another author writing about angels 🙂

    Take care & warmest regards

    Kirie – persistentwriter

    Comment by persistent writer | February 9, 2011 | Reply

  2. Thank you very much. I’m glad you’re interested. =)

    Comment by nastasha | February 9, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

