Unnormal Normalcy

Just News and Ramblings From Your Average Author

Some Delayed Reviews

Here are two mini-reviews for books that I read recently. I’m not exactly sure why I didn’t post more here, but better late than never.

The MercenaryThe Mercenary by Cornelia Grey

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I don’t really have a whole lot to say about this book, except that I truly enjoyed it and found myself wishing it was longer. It was a very quick read, but also very engrossing. The ending was just very abrupt, I felt. I wish more of the aftermath of the final event was included in the story. I wasn’t ready for it to end.

This book is really amazing, though rather short. There are really intense fighting scenes and “love” scenes. And lots of cool sci-fi stuff. If you like sci-fi M/M romance-y awesomeness, I recommend this book. Completely. Also, I read it on my Kindle, and it was relatively inexpensive for its awesomeness.

 

And for something that I really didn’t like, which doesn’t usually happen…

The Quiet AmericanThe Quiet American by Graham Greene

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I’m not sure there was anything about this book I enjoyed, except the way the story came full-circle. The narrator was not very emotionally invested in his own story, and the women were treated as nothing better than objects. Thomas just comes off as not very selfish and not interested in what happens to anyone but himself. He didn’t care at all for Pyle when he died, and the way he tells the story just really bothers me. I really did not like him. At all.

April 10, 2011 - Posted by | Reading

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

