Unnormal Normalcy

Just News and Ramblings From Your Average Author

The Survivors Review

Goodreads Description:

In 1692, when witch trials gripped the community of Salem, Massachusetts, twenty-six children were accused as witches, exiled, and left for dead. Fourteen of them survived.

The Survivors is the first installment of the tantalizing tales of the fourteen ill-fated Survivors and their descendants, who have been content in hiding for over three centuries. Isolated on a Montana mountainside, only Sadie, the rogue daughter, dares to abandon the family’s sacred hiding place. But no matter how far Sadie runs, something always pulls her back.

On a muggy summer night in Tennessee, she witnesses a shocking scene that will change her life forever. It is the first in a sequence of events that will drag her from the human world she’s sought to belong to for over a century and send her back to her Puritanical family and into an uncertain future filled with cunning witches, mysterious nosferatu shape-shifters, dangerous eretica and vieczy vampires, millennia-old mythology, and the search for her own mortality. After all…

HOW DO YOU KILL A SURVIVOR?

The Survivors will steal your heart and invade your mind. Fall into the pages of Sadie’s life, a world so frighteningly similar to your own, you’ll find yourself wanting to go to the Montana mountains to find the Survivors for yourself.

And it is only the beginning.

My Review:

At first I wasn’t sure I’d like this book very much. Then I started reading it.

Havard had me hooked by the end of the epilogue, and I could not get enough of this book. The beginning was a little slow, but once we meet the first of the Winters, it picks up and doesn’t slow down.

I’m a sap for Everett, I admit. Of all the characters, I’d like to meet him in real life. Though, I was very angry with him for keeping his secrets from Sadie until she forced them from his family. In my opinion, it would have shown his love for her if he had just come out and told her. Then again, his character is one who needs family, and he was stuck in a rut between them and her, so I understand. Plus, it was probably better that she learn everything while Anthony was there to help her understand.

I am looking forward to the next book in the series, mainly because I want to know when Sadie becomes one of them – it has to happen for Anthony’s vision to come to pass, from what I understand. I also want to know just what Sadie actually is right now, since she doesn’t seem to fit into any of the neat supernatural-creature categories. And I want to know how they can stop the rebel Survivors from destroying the world.

Amanda Havard has definitely found herself a fan in me. I’m hooked.

Rating: 5/5

June 17, 2011 - Posted by | Blog Tour, Reading

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

