Unnormal Normalcy

Just News and Ramblings From Your Average Author

The End Has Come

I’ve never been a huge Harry Potter fan. I mean, yes, I loved the books and the movies, but I was never one of those people. The idea of waiting for hours outside to get a book that I could get later, or to see a movie that I could see later when the theater wasn’t more than fully packed… it just never appealed to me. I understand why people do it, I’m just not quite that obsessed. I don’t even know when I started reading the books, but it was at least 2005. And I waited nearly two years to read Deathly Hallows, just because I wanted the paperback version to match the rest of the series on my shelf. I knew what happened anyway, it was all over everything within twenty-four hours. I remember I was in NYC when the final book came out, and they were selling it everywhere. I went to my first Broadway musical that night – Wicked – and two girls just in front of us were reading the book before the show. They were at least two-thirds of the way through it. The book hadn’t even been out for twenty-four hours yet.

But I do love the series, let me repeat. I’m sad that it’s over, too. Yes, we still have Pottermore to be excited about, but I doubt anything Rowling does will compare with the complete worldwide obsession created by the books and the movies. It’s hard to imagine anything ever coming close. And yes, I do plan to see the movie. Several weeks from now. I don’t like feeling claustrophobic while watching a movie.

The cultural impact of this series really interests me. I mean, I remember the day when I was flipping through channels to find something to watch and stumbled across a reporter on CNN announcing that “Dumbledore is gay, Rowling said so.” Well, not those words exactly, but close. It was on CNN, like it was real news about a real person. I stared at the screen for a while, then laughed like a crazy person. (Also, just to point out more of the cultural changes; “Dumbledore” is recognized by my spell-check as a real word.) In a way, I almost wish I had seen the movie tonight, just to say that I did it, I had that cultural experience. But I stopped by the local movie theater at about 11:20, just to see what was going on. I took a picture of the sea of cars parked there, but it hardly does it justice at all. Parking overflowed into the parking lot of L.L. Bean across the street, which is where I took the picture from. Oh, how I wish I could write something that did this to people.

It is the end of an era, and it sure was epic. Thank you, Mr. Potter. But especially, thank you Ms. Rowling. You accomplished every writer’s dream.

July 15, 2011 - Posted by | Reading

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

