Unnormal Normalcy

Just News and Ramblings From Your Average Author

The Passage Review

Title: The Passage

Author: Justin Cronin

Published: May 17th, 2011, Random House

Source: Goodreads First Reads

Goodreads Description: An epic and gripping tale of catastrophe and survival, The Passage is the story of Amy–abandoned by her mother at the age of six, pursued and then imprisoned by the shadowy figures behind a government experiment of apocalyptic proportions. But Special Agent Wolgast, the lawman sent to track her down, is disarmed by the curiously quiet girl—and risks everything to save her. As the experiment goes nightmarishly wrong, Wolgast secures her escape—but he can’t stop society’s collapse. And as Amy walks alone, across miles and decades, into a future dark with violence and despair, she is filled with the mysterious and terrifying knowledge that only she has the power to save the ruined world.

My Thoughts: I have high standards for five-star books. I strongly feel like this book meets all of them.

I found it challenging at first to get into the story, possibly because I really disliked Amy’s mother, and also because I was daunted by the size of the book I was just starting. But Cronin’s style dragged me in within three chapters.

The story-telling was fantastic. The characters were very different from each other, and Cronin was able to make their voices distinctive and fitting to their personalities. I found myself attached to many of them.

At first I was bothered by some characters leaving the story, but eventually I came to understand that the book was about Amy, and everyone else was simply a person who encountered her, and in most cases, helped her. It’s a story about the struggle of humanity to survive while being destroyed by something it helped create. It’s a war story, about fighting back and struggling for victory when your army is vastly outnumbered by creatures that were once human, that can destroy you or make you one of their own.

I cannot wait to see where the next book goes. Even the heart-retching ending had me yearning for more. I rarely recommend books, but I do recommend this one. Especially if you’re sick of sparkly vampires.

Rating: 5/5

August 21, 2011 - Posted by | Reading

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

