Unnormal Normalcy

Just News and Ramblings From Your Average Author

On Leading Many Lives

Sometimes I feel like I’m a terrible excuse for an author when I struggle to write more than 100 words a night. I feel like I’m letting myself, my readers, and my characters down when I can’t write more. I feel like stories are bursting to get out of me, but I just don’t have the energy to write them out. Why? Let’s take a look.

I go to school. I’m currently working on completing my Associate degree so that I can transfer in the spring, and I need to keep a 3.5 or higher GPA. By the end of the week I’m just so tired that I don’t want to risk not giving major scenes justice, or not being creative enough for smaller scenes.

I work. It’s only two nights a week, but it takes up my prime writing time (between 8 and 11 PM) on both of those nights.

I bowl. Every Monday night, but I try to get some writing in afterward. You know Mondays though, I’m usually tired by then.

I’m a girlfriend. And I like to be able to see my boyfriend more than once a week, though it’s extremely difficult.

Sometimes I just want to do other stuff. Like read. Or watch TV (yay, NCIS is back!). Or write blog posts for no reason other than that I want to write but can’t focus on my WIP.

Even with all these other things pulling me back, I try to write at least a little bit every night. Even if I write just 100 words, that’s 100 words I didn’t have written yesterday. And I think that’s important to realize; you don’t need to write 500 words, or 900 words a day, just do what you can. Don’t force yourself to work on a project that you can’t focus on, because then your characters will just be out of character, and you will make a zillion (yes, zillion) typos. Just get 100 words done, if you can’t do more. Slow progress is still progress.

September 22, 2011 - Posted by | Life, Writing

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

