Unnormal Normalcy

Just News and Ramblings From Your Average Author

Monday Plug – NaNoWriMo

National Novel Writing Month (or, NaNoWriMo) starts tomorrow! This is a very exciting event for writers all over the world, who have been waiting and planning for this since last year. I will be participating this year – sort of. I am already working on a book, as you know, so I won’t be going by the rules and starting a new novel tomorrow. Naughty me. Instead, I will be focusing on completing WIP by November 30th. My goal is to make WIP at least 50,000 words, without throwing in scenes that aren’t important. I realize I have a head start, so I will not be uploading the novel at the end of the month, because that wouldn’t be fair. I’m doing this because I won’t have time to start over, since I need to keep a 3.5 or higher GPA, apply for jobs, work, and meet with people at the school I’m planning on transferring to before it gets too close to the spring quarter. Plus, my birthday is this month, and turning 21 will either help or hinder the creative process…

What is NaNoWriMo anyway? For those of you who don’t know, it is one month (November, always) when participants focus on writing 50,000 word novels. The goal is to do it all from scratch, but there is nothing against planning or plotting for months in advance. But you have to do it all yourself, and it has to be a work of fiction. The deadline is 11:59:59 on November 30th. There are community forums and live meets in most major cities, so participants can support each other. Even if you don’t quite make it, it’s still a lot of fun to try.

Visit the website to participate: http://www.nanowrimo.org 

October 31, 2011 - Posted by | Monday Plug

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

