Unnormal Normalcy

Just News and Ramblings From Your Average Author

The Desire for Dearborne Review

Title: The Desire for Dearborne

Author: VB Kildaire

Published: June 2009, Dreamspinner Press

Source: bought from Dreamspinner

Goodreads Description: Leander Mayfield is the only surviving son of a poor farmer… or so he believes until the day he learns he is in fact the new Earl of Dearborne. Still recovering from a lingering illness, the sensitive young man travels to Great Britain to claim his estate and embarks upon a bewildering new life.

Julien Sutcliffe, the Earl of Blackstone, is suffering from ennui. He’s tired and bored with all the finery and wealth and wonders about him. Then he meets this refreshingly naive American Earl, newly arrived in England, and suddenly the world comes alive around him again.

Irresistibly drawn to one another, Julien finds himself besotted, and Leander is equally smitten. But just when they think they may have finally found happiness together, Julien and Leander discover that something–or someone–is determined to separate them permanently.

My Thoughts: I definitely liked this book quite a bit. I loved the historical aspects of it, especially. It’s not really as far back in history as I usually like my historical fiction, but I did enjoy it.

I felt like it was lacking somewhere, though. I don’t even know what it is, but the book didn’t impact me as much as I feel it should have. Maybe it was the writing style, but I can’t say for sure. I really can’t put my finger on it, I just felt a little disappointed by the end. Maybe it just didn’t talk enough about other things, like Tobias and Morleigh and the brothers. I feel like it could have involved more detail on those aspects.

All-in-all, though, I did enjoy reading this book. It’s an enjoyable escape from reality.

Rating: 4/5

December 30, 2011 - Posted by | Reading

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

