Unnormal Normalcy

Just News and Ramblings From Your Average Author

Vamp Camp Review

First review of 2012, yay!

Title: Vamp Camp

Author: Wynn Wagner

Published: October 2010, Dreamspinner Press

Source: bought from Dreamspinner

Goodreads Description: Did Mårten Larsson want to be a vamp? Not so much. He wanted it as much as he asked to have a sissy circle over the å in his name. He just woke up dead one day with a piece of paper that said, “Dude, you’re a vampire. Drink some blood. Don’t suntan.”

Luckily, another vampire finds Mårten and agrees to teach him how to live (well, not live, exactly) as a vampire. And so Mårten goes to Vamp Camp, where he has to survive without getting staked or baked, learn how to work with fangs and blood lust while spending time with his boyfriend, and employ his wicked wit as he masters the art and science of vampirism.

My Thoughts: Something about this book just didn’t flow right. To be honest, there were a lot of times when I was really confused about timing and why things were happening. There were a lot of things that weren’t clear. And I didn’t like how most of the German phrases weren’t translated. I understand that the narrator didn’t speak German at the time, but it has clearly been many years since the events in the book, so he would have had time to learn it. Especially if it’s his lover’s native language. Heck, Oberon learned English for him, he could return the favor.

There didn’t seem to be much emotion, either. Yeah, Marten cried on several occasions, but I feel like there should have been more emotions brought up. And Marten doesn’t seem to make a lot of connections. For example, when his maker was supposedly killed, why did he not realize that he hadn’t felt the death like he should have? Did he just assume it was because he was turned without his consent? There were other examples of this sort of thing, but that was the one that stood out to me.

Another thing that really bothered me was the scene at the end involving them and three of the human guys. Marten thinks to himself how Benoit and Emil are committed to each other, but still liked “the occasional group thing.” He then goes on to add that it’s not his “scene.” But it seems like he and Oberon have “group things” quite a bit after Oberon is turned – and even before. So I really don’t get it. And it bothers me.

The whole crazy everyone-sleeps-with-everyone thing didn’t really bother me, though. I think it’s an interesting take on relationships and how someone can be in love with one person but still be in an open relationship. Marten and Oberon aren’t likely to be exclusive because they need human “donors” and “feeding” tends to be very sensual. They’d probably go completely crazy if their relationship wasn’t an open one.

I also want to know why Oberon ended up being more powerful than Marten. And how Marten and Menz taught him all his vampire stuff. And why the vampire who turned Marten went after two of Menz’s staff members. What the heck was going on with that guy?

I know it’s part of a series, but I don’t feel like enough was done to pull me in. Even if the things I’m wondering about are explained later, I’m just not sure if I’d want to read more to find out. Don’t get me wrong, Wagner’s take on vampires is really cool, and I like a lot of the open relationship stuff, like I said, I just felt a bit let down.

Rating: 3/5

January 3, 2012 - Posted by | Reading

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

