Unnormal Normalcy

Just News and Ramblings From Your Average Author

Blue Review

Title: Blue

Author: Russ Gregory

Published: October 2011, Bold Strokes Press

Source: NetGalley

Goodreads Description: One-hundred-and-three-year-old nursing home resident Ruth Brookes holds the key to an unsolved series of murders, and what she knows has never been more important. A psychotic killer is once again stalking gay men in the streets of Austin.

Meanwhile, Matt Bell has finally decided to break out of the social isolation he’s lived in since being shot by the still-at-large killer, and meets the handsome, broody, and shy Thatcher. Both men are fighting their own demons as the killings start again. Soon the body count is rising and their friends are dropping like flies.

Will Ruth give up her secrets in time to stop the madman before Matt and Thatcher find themselves in the crosshairs of his rifle? Only Ruth knows for sure, because life is seldom black and white—more often it is just shades of blue.

My Thoughts: I will be honest and say that I almost stopped reading this book only a short way into it. The story starts off a bit confusing, with a ton of characters being introduced to the reader and all of their stories being introduced. It was a lot to try to process at first, but I pushed through it, and I’m glad that I did.

Another thing that confused me was the point-of-view shift when Matt’s story was being told. His part of the book is told in first person, while everyone else’s story – Thatcher’s, Jim’s, Billy’s, Griggs’, etc. – was told in third person. It took me a while to get used to that, especially because, Matt being the central character, he wasn’t introduced right away.

I don’t think Stephanie really made an impression on me, either. When her part at the end was made clear, I had to stop and think about who she was. It took me a while to realize she was the nurse at the hospital when Adam and Matt were shot. Maybe it’s just because I usually don’t read Kindle books as quickly as print books, so parts of the story left my mind.

The story as a whole, however, was very good. There were times, especially as the plot picked up, where I didn’t want to stop reading. I found myself trying to guess who Billy really was and what was really going on. After a slow start, the plot definitely picks up quickly.

Rating: 4/5

January 26, 2012 - Posted by | Reading

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

