Unnormal Normalcy

Just News and Ramblings From Your Average Author

The Vast Fields of Ordinary Review

Title: The Vast Fields of Ordinary

Author: Nick Burd

Published: March 2011, Penguin Group

Source: bought from Barnes and Noble

Goodreads Description: It’s Dade’s last summer at home, and things are pretty hopeless. He has a crappy job, a “boyfriend” who treats him like dirt, and his parents’ marriage is falling apart. So when he meets and falls in love with the mysterious Alex Kincaid, Dade feels like he’s finally experiencing true happiness. But when a tragedy shatters the final days of summer, he realizes he must face his future and learn how to move forward from his past.

My Thoughts: Wow. This book was much heavier than I had expected. I’m not entirely sure how I feel about it, overall.

I hated that everyone was doing drugs and getting drunk. Like, do any of these kids have self-control?

I hated that Alex and Dade didn’t bother trying to make things work when Dade went off to college. I hate Alex’s “some love you can stand to let go of” comment. That’s just terrible.

I hated Dade’s dad for telling him that he was cheating on Dade’s mom. Who does that to their son?

I hated the ending with Pablo. As a matter of fact, I hated Pablo. I feel bad for him for being unable to accept himself, but he was a jerk and frankly, incredibly selfish.

I loved Lucy. She amused me to no end. I wish I had a friend like her.

I loved the writing style. It flowed really well and even though I didn’t like where the story was going, I was still forced to read more because of the way it was written.

It’s very true to life, but it was very bittersweet. I loved that Dade did finally accept himself, but I ended up feeling more stressed by the world than I had felt before reading it. I do prefer books that give me a good escape from reality, though, so my opinion is definitely biased. I just don’t know how I feel.

Rating: 3/5

February 10, 2012 - Posted by | Reading

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

