Unnormal Normalcy

Just News and Ramblings From Your Average Author

Furies of Calderon Review

Title: Furies of Calderon

Author: Jim Butcher

Published: June 2005, Ace

Source: PaperbackSwap

Goodreads Description:

In the realm of Alera, where people bond with the furies-elementals of earth, air, fire, water, and metal-fifteen-year-old Tavi struggles with his lack of furycrafting. But when his homeland erupts in chaos-when rebels war with loyalists and furies clash with furies-Tavi’s simple courage will turn the tides of war.

My Thoughts:

I feel like there were points when I was really enjoying this book, and there were points where I just felt like things were either dragging on, or too much was happening at once. I liked Doroga, I liked Bernard, I liked Amara, but I really struggled with Tavi. I don’t know why, but I kept picturing him as a boy of about eight or so, not fifteen. I had to keep telling myself that he was older, but it didn’t help. I just don’t know why.

Even though the multiple plot lines were frustrating at times – like when I just wanted to follow one character and it jumped to another one – they did all come together. I’m still undecided about whether or not I will read the next book. Only the last few chapters saved this book from getting three stars.

Rating: 4/5

 

[Bet you’re all stunned that I actually finished a book and wrote something of a review. So am I. It took me forever to read this.]

April 24, 2012 - Posted by | Reading

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

