Unnormal Normalcy

Just News and Ramblings From Your Average Author

City of Glass Review

Title: City of Glass

Author: Cassandra Clare

Published: June 2009, Walker Books

Source: bought from Amazon

Goodreads Description:

Amid the chaos of war, the Shadowhunters must decide to fight with the vampires, werewolves and other Downworlders – or against them. Meanwhile, Jace and Clary have their own decision to make: should they pursue the love they know is forbidden?

My Thoughts:

*****SPOILER ALERT*****

Once again, the only reason this book didn’t get five stars from me was Clary. She is just an obnoxious brat that I can’t stand.

As for other things, I’m very happy. I actually like Jace more now, even though he’s still not one of my favorites. I like that he seems to have more respect for Simon now. Even though Jace was willing to sacrifice himself in the end to stop Valentine, I don’t think it was all that heroic. He really just didn’t want to live longer if he was part demon and in love with his sister. It was more of a suicide mission. On the other hand, what Simon did was actually heroic. He was willing to endure whatever the Mark of Cain did to him, just to make sure that the vampires came to the help of his friends. He was willing to live with the results of that action for eternity, without knowing what those results would be.

I felt bad for Magnus for a while, being around Alec but not really being able to be close to him because Alec still hasn’t come out. But I feel like the whole life-or-death situation kind of makes Alec change his mind about that. I love how he just kisses Magnus in the crowded Hall of Accords. Which leads me to the one thing that bothers me; if Clary created this rune to temporarily bind Shadowhunters and Downworlders so they can share powers and skills during the battle, how did anyone who partnered with a warlock learn how to use any of the warlock’s powers in the brief amount of time before the battle? I want to know what Alec could do. Did he shoot flaming blue arrows?

And Luke. I love him. I’m so happy that he finally told Clary’s mom that he loves her. So happy for him!And Malachi; saw that coming. I’m also very glad to know that Clary and Jace aren’t actually siblings. I was still hoping that her mom would be telling her about being married to Valentine and just say, “So I cheated on him. Don’t worry, Luke is your father.” That would have made it so much better.

Great book, though. Still hate Clary, but everyone else just makes her endurable.

Then again, I still can’t decide who’s supposed to be on the cover. I mean, why would it be Sebastian when he’s a giant jerk-face demonic bully? But if it’s Alec, why does he have a sword instead of a bow? But Sebastian is evil, he can’t be on the cover. And there are angel wings, and Alec is a heck of a lot more Nephilim than Sebastian, but the wings are almost tainted-looking… See, I argue myself in circles.

Rating: 4/5

May 3, 2012 - Posted by | Reading

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

