Unnormal Normalcy

Just News and Ramblings From Your Average Author

Armchair BEA 2012!

Well, I did it last year, so why not do it again! I thought it was lots of fun, after all.

Today is day one, also known as the day for introductions, so here goes!

Please tell us a little bit about yourself: Who are you? How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging?

My name is Nastasha, and I am a 21-year-old college student from New York (the state, not the city), USA. I have been blogging for about two years now. Originally I started this blog as place to talk about my writing, but pretty soon I started doing reviews and basically turned it into a combination book blog/author blog. I started finding all the other awesome blogs around the web and decided that, heck, I can do that, too. It was getting boring just talking about my writing, anyway. I suppose I also thought a bit about getting people interested in my books by getting them to my blog about books in general. That wasn’t the primary motive, though. I really just wanted to be a part of the community.

Tell us one non-book-related thing that everyone reading your blog may not know about you.

Just one? I guess I would have to say that not many of my readers know that I collect model horses. It’s a fun hobby to be in, with model horse shows and the customizations that can be done. I don’t want to bore everyone by talking about it, but it’s been a big hobby of mine since 1999.

What is your favorite feature on your blog (i.e. author interviews, memes, something specific to your blog)?

Heh, yeah. Well, I really fail at keeping up my blog when I’m in school, so most readers probably don’t even remember the features of my blog anymore… Personally, I like the Soundtrack Sunday feature that I do, where I post a music video – when I remember. It’s usually either something that fits with a book I’m reading or one of the stories I’m writing. Or it’s just a song I’ve become obsessed with that I feel like sharing.

If you could eat dinner with any author or character, who would it be and why?

I am going to do both a character and an author, instead of one or the other. For an author, I would love to dine with Lynn Flewelling. I think she’s freaking amazing. Her Nightrunner series is the best thing I have ever read, and I honestly doubt any other series will ever take its place as my favorite. Her Tamir Triad is also really good, though I’m not nearly as obsessed with it, because it doesn’t have the characters that I love from Nightrunner. Anyone who can create such amazingness must be brilliant. That’s why, for a character I would like to have dinner with, I choose Seregil, one of the main characters in the Nightrunner series. He’s just… purely awesome. I can’t even begin to describe his awesomeness.

What literary location would you most like to visit? Why?

Isengard. Because that’s where they’re taking the hobbits.

Really, though, I want to visit every location. Because that’s the purpose of reading, isn’t it? When I need an escape, I just pick up a book and away I go. Books are magical that way.

June 4, 2012 - Posted by | Armchair BEA

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

