Unnormal Normalcy

Just News and Ramblings From Your Average Author

The Less-Dead Review

Title: The Less-Dead

Author: April Lurie

 

Published: January 2010, Delacorte Books for Young Readers

 

Source: PaperbackSwap

 

Goodreads Description:

 

Noah Nordstrom has been dissing the religious beliefs of his father, who hosts a popular Christian radio show and whom Noah accuses of spreading hate. When two local gay teens are murdered, Noah’s anti-evangelism intensifies—he’s convinced that the killer is a caller on his dad’s program.

Then Noah meets Will Reed, a cool guy. But when he learns that Will is gay, Noah gets a little weirded out. Especially since Will seems really into him. Noah gives Will the brush-off. Meanwhile, the killer is still at large . . . and soon Noah finds the next victim. It’s Will.

Racked with guilt, Noah decides to investigate. He knows the serial killer is targeting gay teens, but only those who live in foster homes, whose deaths are not that important to society; they are the less-dead. Noah, however, is determined to prove that someone cares. With the help of Will’s journal, which he pocketed at the scene of the crime and in which the killer has written clues, Noah closes in on an opponent more dangerous than he can guess.

 

My Thoughts:

 

This book was intense, creepy, and bittersweet.

I felt so sad for Will, before he died, and I felt so bad for Noah afterward. I love how Noah takes it upon himself to find the killer, though. I think, considering everything that happened, it was the best thing he could do for Will.

I was quite surprised to find out who the killer was – honestly, I thought it was Hawk, even though I really liked him. I briefly thought it was Doomsday, too, but never who it actually was.

I did not like the way Carson’s atheist father was portrayed. The fact that he was a jerk, and the fact that he was an atheist, seemed to go hand-in-hand the way the story was told. As an atheist myself, I found that a little insulting.

I like how Noah believed in god, but really didn’t like religion. I like that his dad’s church decided to be more open-minded and get rid of the Exodus group. I also like that his dad ended up feeling very bad about the nasty things he said to Will.

All in all, I must say that I found this story to be quite haunting, but decent.

 

Rating: 3/5

 

June 19, 2012 - Posted by | Reading

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

