Unnormal Normalcy

Just News and Ramblings From Your Average Author

I’m Alive, I Swear!

Sorry for the unplanned hiatus. I’ve had a lot going on: getting ready for school, working, working out, getting distracted by the Olympics, reading stuff online instead of books from my TBR pile, trying to write, trying to plot out my novel for NaNoWriMo, and other stuff. I’m also struggling to read Inheritance by Christopher Paolini. For my thoughts on that, here is my recent Facebook status:

I just don’t understand why I’m having such a hard time getting through Inheritance. I think it’s Paolini’s writing style that is bothering me. I think my preferences have changed since reading Brisingr, and I’m really bothered by the overly flowery-flashy way he writes. Especially battle scenes where he paints beautiful pictures of graphic death. And he uses the flowery-ness to drag out scenes that don’t need to be dragged out so long. And I’m not even going to get into his refusal to actually put Eragon and Arya into a romantic relationship like they so obviously should be in. I’m halfway through the book, and I’m going to finish it because I want to know how this series ends, but I may throw the book out a window when I’m done.

And that is why it is taking me ages to read it. Not the fact that it’s over 800 pages long. I just can’t get into it, but I NEED to know how it ends!

And I’m going to force myself to get back into updating here. I just have to structure the time it takes to write a post into my day, or I’ll never get back on track!

August 6, 2012 - Posted by | Life, Reading

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

