Unnormal Normalcy

Just News and Ramblings From Your Average Author

Weekend of Fun

Where was I this past weekend? At the Sterling Renaissance Festival in Sterling, NY!

This is, by far, my favorite annual event that happens in my area of New York. Though, honestly, this was the second time I had gone in the 21 years I’ve been living here (it’s been running for 36 years). The last time I went was the 30th anniversary, and that was with my parents. Of course, going with them, we didn’t dress up. This time I went with a friend from school. I dressed up this time, and I felt so much more like a part of the whole thing. I thought I’d feel awkward, but I totally felt like I belonged there.

Some highlights of the day: we saw the joust twice and still have no idea how much of it is acting and how much of it is real – though there are some obvious staged routines such as what side each knight rides for and how they act around each other before and after the jousting takes place; I had my first turkey leg and it was incredibly delicious; we watched Don Juan and Miguel, a seemingly random stage performance that was completely hilarious, a jester who juggled and did magic tricks, and a Celtic band.

We also learned that your manliness can be determined by how many “blows to the nethers” you can endure before yielding.

And, as if my life isn’t consumed by school, work, writing, and other hobbies, I’ve decided to create an entire character for myself for the next time I go to this festival. Or any other, for that matter. I’ve going to have so much fun with that!

And now, I leave with you with a terrible picture of me and “Sir William.”

August 15, 2012 - Posted by | Life

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

